Turning of cam so it doesn’t use credits

Comments

13 comments

  • John Lockburner

    Do you want to use it as a regular trail camera that doesn't send pictures or just not have it send to the app and online portal?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Phil Bancroft

    Just to stop using credits on the ap.  Cam will be turned off for a a couple months but data service won’t be turned off.  

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Elizabeth Swoope

    If you turn the camera off, it will not use a credit when the current one expires. It will only use the next credit the next time it sends a picture.

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Phil Bancroft

    Thanks. So it knows the difference between the camera being turned off vs just not taking a pic or would it also not use a premium credit if it just happened to take no pics for a couple months ?  Just curious.  

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Phil Bancroft

    Actually a friend says he’s has his cameras turned off for 3 months and they are still using premium credits.  🤔

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Elizabeth Swoope

    The only thing that affects credits is taking a picture. It doesn't matter whether the camera is on or off. Can you please get your friend to contact the Spartan FB page or post a screen shot of credit history here. If your friend is buying his data plan from Spartan, then that autorenews and it includes credits, which is a different situation entirely.

    Here's what happens. When you register the camera and start using it, the first time it takes/sends a picture, it grabs a credit (usually the one free credit that you get with the camera). When that credit expires the next month, the camera knows that it's out of credits. If you don't buy any more, it just checks in at midnight each day to see if there are more credits. If there are, then the next time it takes a picture, it will send it and it will pull a credit.

    The camera will not use credits while it is off and/or not sending pictures (once its current credit expires).

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Phil Bancroft

    He uses he uses Verizon unlimited 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Phil Bancroft

    Will share with him, thx 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Elizabeth Swoope

    Please have him look in the app, Account > Premium Credits > Check Credit. There should not be any Period Begin dates after he turned his cameras off.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Phil Bancroft

    Correct , he thought it used it March but it was Feb.   that’s good to know , thanks 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • John Lockburner

    Just remind him if he even turns the camera on for a second and it contacts the server it's going to use a credit.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Phil Bancroft

    That’s a little different than what Elizabeth said, that it grabs a credit when it takes the next picture past the last expiration date.   Unless you mean contact the server = take a pic , which mine does really quick after set to on.   Best just take the batteries out 🤪

    thanks...

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Elizabeth Swoope

    I am pretty sure that it's send a picture. It continues to contact the server for the midnight status report if it's on and there's no credit. It does contact the server when it goes online and sends a status report, but won't send a picture unless you take one manually or turn it on and it sends a motion-triggered picture. Contact with the server is allowed with no credit, but sending a picture is not.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.